Cybersecurity - Certificate of Achievement

As a new Certificate of Achievement under the Computer Network/IT program, the Cybersecurity pathway provides students with an opportunity to receive the knowledge and training required to step in to a field that is in high demand. Cybersecurity is essential to the success of companies, federal agencies, financial institutions, and countless industries in today's marketplace.



Cybersecurity - Certificate of Achievement

Required Core Courses:

  • CNIT R120 - Cisco CCNA Networking I (4 units)


  • CNIT R144 - CompTIA Network + Fundamentals (4 units)


  • CNIT R145 - CompTIA Security + IT Security (3 units)
  • CNIT R146 - Cybersecurity: CompTIA PenTest+ (3 units)

*Both CNIT R120 and CNIT R144 provide foundation-level computer networking/IT training which is why you can take either course. CNIT R145 and CNIT R146 are both mandatory core courses.

Required Additional Courses (Complete two courses from the following electives):

  • CNIT R127 - Wireless Networking (3 units)
  • CNIT R131 - Admin Microsoft Windows Server (3 units)
  • CNIT R143 - CompTIA Linux + Fundamentals (3 units)
  • CNIT R151 - Cloud Computing & Virtualization (4 units)

Total Required Major Units = 16-17

Scholarships and Other Opportunities

Scholarships, internships, and other opportunities are available for students following a career pathway in CNIT and Cybersecurity.
Click on the accordion dropdown below to explore the opportunities available.