Health Center Resources

 

                     

Ventura County Crisis Team

(866)998-2243

211 (Call 2-1-1)

(Provides referrals for various services such as employment, child care, meals, mortgage assistance, substance abuse)  

Center for Disease Control (CDC)

English/ Spanish: (800)232-4636

 

National Eating Disorders Association

Helpline: (800)931-2237

 

Websites Featuring Reliable Information

General Health Issues :

American Cancer Society                     www.cancer.org

American Heart Association                  www.americanheart.org

American Herpes Foundation                www.herpes-foundation.org

Become An Ex

(Smoking Cessation Program)               http://becomeanex.org/

Center for Disease Control (CDC)         www.cdc.gov

Go Ask Alice                                             www.goaskalice.columbia.edu  

Healthfinder (en espanol)                     www.healthfinder.gov/espanol/

Immunization Saves Lives

Vaccine Information                              www.vaccineinformation.org

MedlinePlus

Trusted Health Information                 www.medlineplus.gov

Revolutionhealth.com                             www.revolutionhealth.com  

UpToDate                                                  www.uptodate.com/patients

U.S. Health and Human Services            www.healthfinder.gov

 

Women’s Health:

Breast Cancer Fund                                  www.breastcancerfund.org

( environmental causes of breast cancer)  

The Campaign for Safe Cosmetics        www.safecosmetics.org

Women’s Health                                       www.womenshealth.org

 

Men’s Health :

 

Men’s Health Network                          www.menshealthnetwork.org

Prostate Cancer Foundation                  www.prostatecancerfoundation.org

WebMD Men’s Health Center               www.men.webmd.com

 

Nutrition:

WIN:                                                        www.win.niddk.nih.gov

Weight-control Information Network

 

Substance Abuse:

College Binge Drinking                             www.collegebingedrinking.net

“How to Cut Down on Your Drinking”    www.pubs.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/handout.htm

National Institute on Drug Abuse           www.drugabuse.gov

(NIDA)  

Prevention Online (Prevline)                     www.ncadi.samhsa.gov

National Clearinghouse for

Alcohol and Drug Information

 

SMART Recovery                                     www.smartrecovery.org

Self Management & Recovery Training

Treatment 4 Addiction                           www.treatment4addiction.com

 

Mental Health:

Campus Blues.com                                www.campusblues.com

Ulifeline                                                   http://www.ulifeline.com

The Jed Foundation                                http://www.jedfoundation.org

 

College Health:

College Drinking Prevention                 www.collegedrinkingprevention.gov

SmartSex.org                                         www.smartersex.org