Oxnard College Academic Senate Minutes: <u>Date: April 27, 2015</u>

Academic Senate Executive Board	
Linda Kamaila, President	Present
Diane Eberhardy, Vice President	Present
Tom Stough, Treasurer	Present
Amy Edwards, Secretary	Present
Department	Senators
ADS/Paralegal	1. Becca Porter, Present
CIS/Office Technology	Diane Eberhardy, Present
Child Development	1. Vacant
Counseling	Graciela Tortorelli, Present
Dental Programs	Armine Derdiarian, Present
Visual and Performing Arts	1. Amy Edwards, Present
Fire Programs	1. Tami Crudo, Absent
Letters	1. Teresa Bonham, Absent
	2. Gaylene McPherson, Present
	1 Susan Jones, Absent
	2. PT Vacant
Library	1. Tom Stough, Present
Management	1. Robert Cabral, Present
Math	Bret Black, Absent
	2. Vacant
	1 PT Vacant
Part-Time Faculty Rep. at-Large	1. Vacant
Physical Education/Health	1. L. Ron McClurkin, Absent
Natural Sciences	1. Shannon Newby, Present
	2. James Harber, Present
	1 PT Vacant
	2. PT Vacant
Student Support Services (EAC)	1. Della Newlow, Present
Student Support Services (Health Center)	Deanna Flanagan, Absent
Student Support Services (EOPS)	1. Gloria Lopez, Present
Reading	1. Kari Tudman, Present
Social Sciences	Chris Horrock, Present
	2. Tomas Salinas, Absent
	1. PT Vacant
Technology	1. Vacant
AFT Vice-President	1. Everardo Rivera, Absent
Non-Voting ASG Officer	1. Josue "Josh" Ruiz, Present

Non-Voting Faculty: None Guests: Dave Fuhrmann

- I.
- Called to order by President Linda Kama'ila at 2:12pm
  Agenda Adopted: 1<sup>st</sup> Tom Stough 2<sup>nd</sup> Armine Derdiarian Motion carried II.

## III. Announcements:

- A. **Tom Stough** and **Kari Tudman** announced the building, library, and tutoring schedules for the upcoming months at the LLRC.
- B. **Amy Edwards** reminded the Senate to purchase a ticket for the comedy show that will take place this Friday, May 1<sup>st</sup> at 8:00pm.
- C. Armine Derdiarian announced that OC had 100% National Board for Dental Hygiene! Awesome!
- D. ASG Interim President Josh Ruiz
  - a. Online Election online was successful. Last year we had 275 votes and this year 925! He spoke about the election process.
  - b. Results of the election:
    - i. President: Joe Perez
    - ii. VP: None
    - iii. Treasurer: Daniel Flores
    - iv. Secretary: None
    - v. PR Officer: Jonathan Lopez
    - vi. Senators: Anna Anchondo, Alexsander Neri-UNDER APPEAL, Noel Ortiz
  - c. Senators had some concerns that there is no ASG secretary because no minutes would be taken which would halt business.
- IV. Public Comments: None
- V. Approval of the Minutes: 1<sup>st</sup> Robert Cabral 2<sup>nd</sup> Becca Porter
  - a. Corrections: Two
  - b. Motion Carried with those two corrections made
- VI. Special Report: **Dave Fuhrmann**, Vice-Chancellor of Technology gave a presentation on the district-wide technology plan.
  - A. Overall, he provided a roadmap into 2018 that includes the district-wide goals.
  - B. He wants to bring the plan to the Board in June so he is still soliciting feedback now.
  - C. He provided a review of the 18 initiatives.
  - D. He will provide everyone a copy of the entire plan through email.
  - E. Mr. Furman then answered some questions.
- VII. Treasurer's Report: \$3,231.52
- VIII. AS President's Report:
  - A. Please pay attention to any email that comes from "DWEC." This is an invitation to participate in a meeting to decide on equivalency before we move forward with hiring. We need more OC faculty participating in these. A discussion took place.
  - B. Multi-Cultural Day was a success!
  - C. Discussion about finals and graduation took place.
  - D. A discussion about new hires and shifting of positions took place. They have completed the hiring for new VPs, but no persons were announced. The vetting is taking place. Other positions were also discussed. For example, there will also be a Dean position for Institutional Effectiveness (Researcher).
  - E. Accreditation is inching along slowly. Microsoft 365 will be used to share the document. Please sign-up. If you need help, to contact OCHelpDesk to get/help with your login information.
- IX. Departmental and Committee Reports
  - A. Some Departments:

- 1. Office Technology: (**Diane Eberhardy**) The office tech area has put together a flyer (distributed) to encourage students to take these classes to build their fundamental computer skills. Please help this department get the word out. A discussion about student computer needs took place.
- 2. Transitional: (**Linda Kama'ila**) Their first important meeting is taking place this week. Senators still have questions about how this will work.

## B. Committees:

- 1. PEPC: meets tomorrow to complete the ranking reports. They will send them to PBC.
- 2. Curriculum: Two things to emphasize:
  - a. We are moving to early fall registration which means that if you need to change any curriculum for 2016 it has to be at the very first meeting in the fall 2015.
  - b. We need to remember that curriculum is for "the college." The committee doesn't control it, but rather the college as a whole "owns it."
- 3. PBC:
  - a. We will be bringing on International students again
  - b. Business and Student Service provided a list of resource priorities.
- 4. PDC
  - a. **Dr. Duran** approved the travel budget once again of \$30,000 once again this year.
  - b. They met last week and launched the fall application and are available on SharePoint. Applications are due May 15<sup>th</sup> to SharePoint.
  - c. The Senate anticipates that this travel money will remain under new Presidential leadership.
- X. New Business: None
- XI. Old Business:
  - A. Election Results:
    - i. **Robert Cabral** and **Shannon Newby** announced the winners of the 2015-2016 election.
    - ii. 62 ballots came in. 7 were ineligible. 39 FT; 16 PT
    - iii. Winners are: President Linda Kama'ila, VP Diane Eberhardy, Secretary Amy Edwards Treasurer: Tom Stough (25 FT; 10 PT) [Della Newlow (14 FT; 5 PT)] Sabbatical Chair: Jenny Redding
    - iv. Motion to confirm the new Senate Exec officers for a two year term 1<sup>st</sup> **Della Newlow** 2<sup>nd</sup> **Shannon Newby** *Motion Carried*
    - v. Motion to confirm the one year term for sabbatical chair 1<sup>st</sup> **Tom Stough** 2<sup>nd</sup> **Gloria Lopez** *Motion carried*
- XII. District Business (Aps, BPs): None
- XIII. Reorganization: See above in AS President's Report
- XIV. For the Good of the Order: None
- XV. Adjourned at 3:58pm

Respectfully Submitted,

Amy F. Edwards, Secretary